Dr. Harry van der Weijde receives Humboldt Research Fellowship

Dr. Harry van der Weijde receives prestigious Humboldt Fellowship for experienced researchers from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

The scholarship enables Dr. van der Weijde, University of Edinburgh, to spend a research stay at WiSo, where he will work on the analysis of risks in consumer-oriented energy markets. The host is Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm, spokeswoman and dean of WiSo Nuremberg and holder of the chair of economics, in particular economic theory, and one of the most prominent economic policy advisors to the German government.

Specifically, Dr. van der Weijde’s research project aims to develop and apply an interdisciplinary framework for the investigation and optimization of risks in increasingly consumer-centered energy markets – and similarly in other sectors. His research will draw heavily on economic theory while reflecting recent advances in behavioral economics – the study of psychology in relation to the economic decision-making processes of individuals and institutions. The methodological approaches will be tested in a number of practical applications and will provide useful results for stakeholders such as policy makers and engineers. The research project builds on earlier work of Dr. van der Weijde in which he modelled investments in energy systems under uncertainty, as well as on his broader interest in answering economic questions using mathematical tools on technical systems in the fields of energy and transport.

Depending on the limitations of Covid-19, Dr. van der Weijde plans to stay at WiSo for a longer period in 2021 to work on his research project together with colleagues from Wiso and Energie Campus Nürnberg and to establish further links between the Faculty of Technology and WiSo. Research fellowships of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation bring researchers from all over the world to Germany. The Foundation’s awards are among the most prestigious and generous in Europe; the alumni network includes 50 Nobel Prize winners. Candidates are selected on the basis of an evaluation of their past academic achievements as well as their future potential and the originality and innovative potential of their proposed research.

Futher information can be found via